Mea Maxima Culpa: Silence in the House of God
Born Today
Home / Mea Maxima Culpa: Silence in the House of God

Mea Maxima Culpa: Silence in the House of God

106 min
IMDB rate:
Alex Gibney
Won 3 Primetime Emmys. Another 5 wins & 7 nominations
Country: USA
Release Date: 2012-11-16
Filming Locations: Vatican City
Alex Gibney
Himself - Narrator (voice)
Terry Kohut
Himself - St. John's School for the Deaf, 1960-1969
Gary Smith
Himself - St. John's School for the Deaf, 1954-1970
Pat Kuehn
Himself - St. John's School for the Deaf, 1969-1973
Arthur Budzinski
Himself - St. John's School for the Deaf, 1953-1964
Lawrence Murphy
Himself - priest, St. John's School for the Deaf, 1950-1974 (archive footage)
Richard Sipe
Himself - Former Benedictine Monk / Mental Health Counselor
Scott Kuehn
Himself (archive footage)
Angela Kuehn
Herself (archive footage)
Patrick Wall
Himself - Former Benedictine Monk (as Patrick J. Wall)
Bob Bolger
Himself - St. John's School for the Deaf (archive footage)
John Conway
Himself - Counselor for the Deaf
Jim Heydendahl
Himself - Senior Boys' Dorm Supervisor, 1972-1974
Geoffrey Robertson
Himself - Human Rights Lawyer (as Geoffrey Robertson QC)
Jeff Anderson
Himself - Attorney for Gary Smith & Terry Kohut
Laurie Goodstein
Herself - The New York Times National Religion Correspondent
Thomas Doyle
Himself - Canon Lawyer (as Rev. Thomas Doyle)
Robert Mickens
Himself - Rome Correspondent, The Tablet - Catholic Weekly
Marco Politi
Himself - Vatican Correspondent, Il Fatto Quotidiano
Pope Benedict XVI
Himself (archive footage)
Tony Walsh
Himself - Priest (archive footage)
Mick Peelo
Himself - Reporter, RTE Television
Grainne O'Sullivan
Herself - Co-Founder,
Desmond Connell
Himself - Archbishop of Dublin, 1988-2004 (as Most Rev. Desmond Connell)
Sean Brady
Himself - Primate of All Ireland (archive footage) (as Cardinal Sean Brady)
Enda Kenny
Himself - Prime Minister of Ireland (2011) (archive footage)
Marcial Maciel Degollado
Himself (archive footage)
Carlos Slim
Himself (archive footage)
Jason Berry
Himself - Reporter and Author
Angelo Sodano
Himself, Cardinal (archive footage)
Peter Isely
Himself - abuse survivors advocate
Rembert Weakland
Himself - Archbishop of Milwaukee, 1977-2002 (also archive footage) (as Most Rev. Rembert Weakland)
Maurizio Turco
Himself - Co-Founder,
William Donohue
Himself, president, Catholic League (archive footage)
Benito Mussolini
Himself (archive footage)
Pope Pius XI
Himself (archive footage)
Timothy Dolan
Himself (archive footage) (as Most Rev. Timothy Dolan)
Jamey Sheridan
Terry (voice)
Chris Cooper
Gary (voice)
Ethan Hawke
Pat (voice)
John Slattery
Arthur (voice)
Donagh Gleason
Father Murphy (as Dennis Gleason)
Robert Hoatson
Religious Ritual Priest (as Robert Hoaston)
Doriel Printz-Nadworny
Dorm Room Boy / Confessional Boy (as Doriel Pryntz-Nadworny)
Brady Bryson
Deaf Child
Kyle Donnery
Deaf Boy (as Kyle Donnerly)
Wyeth Freaney
Deaf Boy
Alexander Primavera
Deaf Boy
Antony Toron
Young Terry
Matthew Ryan Hughes
Young Terry (as Matthew Hughes)
Larry Hunt
Aaron Ballard
Church woman
Laszlo Bilinszky
Additional Character
Desta Mason
Additional Character
Sara Ann Parker
Additional Character
David Rosenblatt
Additional Character
Viet Vo
Additional Character
The narration states "In 1929, a cardinal, soon to be Pope Pius XI, signed the Lateran Treaty with the Fascist government of Mussolini to create the Vatican State." Actually, in 1929, Pius XI was already pope, having been elected in 1922.
Share this
Popular Celebrities